Read time: 3 minutes

10 African countries receive broadband boost

By , ITWeb Africa Malawi correspondent
Malawi , 09 Jul 2024
ITU Secretary-General, Doreen Bogdan-Martin.
ITU Secretary-General, Doreen Bogdan-Martin.

The AfricaBBMaps program would provide €15 million in funding over four years (2024-2027) to African countries Malawi, Ivory Coast, Nigeria, Ethiopia, Kenya, Benin, Botswana, Zambia, Uganda, Burundi, and Zimbabwe.

AfricaBBMaps aims to establish broadband mapping systems across the continent.

The financing was announced at the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) Global Symposium for Regulators in Kampala, Uganda.

According to the ITU, which is managed by Doreen Bogdan-Martin as secretary-general, this program intends to boost efforts to increase digital connectivity in African countries where internet access is still limited in many places.

Daily newsletter